Press Centre

CityBlue Hotels to Open Property in Bujumbura, Burundi

11 Jul 2016

Opening of CityBlue Kiriri Garden Hotel & Suites on July 1st to mark fifth hotel for the Group in third Country

Lome, Togo. 20th June 2016: CityBlue hotels founder Jameel Verjee announced during the African Hotel Investment Forum (AHIF) the upcoming opening of the newest addition to the CityBlue portfolio in Bujumbura, Burundi.  The newly developed luxury hotel is to be named CityBlue Kiriri Garden Hotel & Suites.

Located in the upmarket neighbourhood of Kiriri, the hotel boasts stunning views over Lake Tanganyika, contemporary designer interiors and expansive outdoor lounging spaces and gardens making it the ideal stop for leisure or business. 24 hour security, full CCTV coverage, covered parking and free wifi throughout the property make this the perfect location for business in Bujumbura.  It also features an international cuisine restaurant and, as with all CityBlue properties, a free hearty breakfast is included in the room rate every day, with every stay.

The luxury property currently features 19 well-appointed and generously sized apartments complete with living areas and kitchenettes, with a further 70 suites to be added by the end of the year taking the total inventory to 89. Along with the new suites, the hotel will shortly open a further restaurant, roof top bar, health & fitness centre, spa, pool and pool deck, coffee shop, boutique retail offering and ample spaces for meetings, conferences and functions.

The addition of CityBlue Kiriri Garden Hotel & Suites marks the third country presence for CityBlue Hotels, which already has properties in Kampala, Uganda and Kigali, Rwanda, taking its total footprint to five properties opened since 2013. CityBlue recently featured in the annual W Hospitality Group Report top ten list of brands for development pipelines. The chain is rapidly spreading from its birth place in East Africa with a further ten upcoming properties set to open in the next 36 months in; Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Zambia, Ethiopia, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Nigeria and Cameroon.